Memories of Bollywood


By Furrukh Qureshi

A weekend that most of us have been waiting for…..IIFA!  International Indian Film Awards! Months ago when I first heard about these awards being held in Toronto, I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was along with some of my friend Most are excited that some of their favorite actors and actresses would being coming to town, but for me it was slightly different.

For me its the memories that Bollywood movies have given me…most of which take me back to my childhood where every Saturday night my father would rent a new Indian movie. I believe he did that so that my siblings and I would learn the language a bit  more. He also knew this was family time and in family time we had to do something that everyone would learn from…and this was it!

I have seen many movies..fallen inlove with many on-screen actors….at age 9 I wrote a love letter to the famous Amitabh Bachchan after I watched the movie  “Khudaar” with my family.  In fact my letter began after they sang  “I Love U”. I actually thought he was singing it to me…you really have to understand…I really loved him! lol –  Odd part was my Hindi/Urdu at that age was pretty weak…perhaps it was my parents who would give me the play by-play if I didn’t understand. But back to my love letter…I wrote the letter placed it in my night stand and then was trying to figure out how I was going to get this letter to the famous Amitabh? Unfortunately my brother who was four years older found the letter before I was able to come up with a solution.  Of course he handed it over to Mom…that was not good! She read the entire letter…all of it including parts where I told Amitabh to come take me away and marry me….and much more…yes yes I know I was 9!  All mom could say was “Beta…you are too young to know about love…we don’t write strangers!” A great moment I will never forget!

Grateful that Toronto is embarrassing this event. I love the fact that I live in a city that wants to learn about other people’s cultures and why things are important to them. Thank you Pearson Airport for the Awesome Billboard welcoming the Industry to Toronto!

You might enjoy my previous post: Bollywood Posters

Leave a Reply

