The Art of Books


Recently I went to an estate sale in High Park Toronto. There were so many people in this tiny home! I managed to go to the opposite direction from the  masses in the house and found myself alone at a bookshelf.  I looked up and down and saw hundreds of books…but not books with fancy covers but rather old books with dust covering them.

So obviously I was curious to see what there was on this self.  The first book I picked up was The adventures of Tom Sawyer, by Mark Twain printed by the Press of the Hunter-Rose Co. LTd. I picked it up and first thing I did was open it to a random page and put my nose in the middle if the book at the spine and took a deep smell. Gosh…how I love that smell….the smell of grass mixed with a sweet smell and then mixed with a scent of paper.  That smell is so specific as I remember all the school text books and reading books from the libraries.  I also suppose I have begun to appreciate this smell more and more because of the way technology is taking us.  Technology as pulling us away from the art of the act of reading, the lesson of taking care of a book , or destroying it  with passion from readying it and adding all the dog ears and or loosening the spin. All things that are special and that are being lost by the digital age.

This video below is wonderful – its a moment to stop and appreciate the beauty of books and love we should have towards them.

Support the purchase of books, visit Type bookstore in Toronto.

After organizing our bookshelf almost a year ago (http://youtu.be/zhRT-PM7vpA), my wife and I (Sean Ohlenkamp) decided to take it to the next level. We spent many sleepless nights moving, stacking, and animating books at Type bookstore in Toronto (883 Queen Street West, (416) 366-8973)

One thought on “The Art of Books

  1. I’ve started reading again this year….its more fullfilling then films, and so much more satisfying then the internets…!

    but i think technology has actually helped in some ways with all the books available for free now online, which gets you started again. I started reading again by reading the all time classic “The Little Prince” online.

Leave a Reply

